Climate Energy Summit Seoul 2023


13:30 - 14:00
Registration / VIP Networking
14:00 - 14:30
Opening Ceremony

Opening remark :  Mr. Deok-Heon Kim CEO, eToday
Welcome remark :  Ms. Young-Sook Yoo Chairperson, Climate Change Center

Congratulatory remarks :

Ms. Wha-Jin Han Minister, Ministry of Environment in Republic of Korea
Mr. Se-Hoon Oh Mayor, Seoul Metropolitan Government
H.E. Tamara Mawhinney Ambassador of Canada to the Republic of Korea

Group Photo

14:30 - 15:00
Keynote Speech

A Global Deal to beat Plastic Pollution by 2024

Ms. Jyoti Mathur-Filipp Executive Secretary, Secretariat of the INC for Plastics Pollution, UN Environment Programme

14:30 - 15:00
Keynote Speech

Nexus between Climate Action and Circular Economy

Ms. Hyo-Eun Kim Ambassador and Deputy Minister for Climate Change, Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Republic of Korea

15:00 - 15:10
Discussion & Q&A

[Moderator] Mr. Ho-Jeong Park Professor, Korea University

Session I Government
15:10 - 15:55
The Backbone of UN Treaty and International Cooperation

[EU] Dr. Jorg WEBERNDORFER Minister Counsellor, Trade and Economic Section, Delegation of the European Union to the Republic of Korea

[Japan] Mr. Michihiro Oi Director, Water Environment Division, Ministry of the Environment of Japan

[Rep. of Korea] Ms. Min-Young Han Deputy Director-General, Climate Change, Energy, Environment and Scientific, Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Republic of Korea

Session II Industry
15:55 - 16:35
Public and Private Cooperation to Address the Plastic Lifecycle

[Domestic] Mr. Jong-Hyuk Lee Vice Preident, Green Business Development Vice President, SK Geocentric

[Global] Mr. Jeff Huh Vice President, BASF Korea, Automotive, Materials and Industrial Solutions

[Research Institute] Mr. Yong-Won Cho Research Fellow, Center for Growth Engine Industries, Korea Institute for Industrial Economics & Trade

16:35 - 17:00
Discussion & Q&A

[Moderator] Mr. Ho-Jeong Park Professor, Korea University

Speakers of Session 1&2

17:00 - 18:00
Talk Concert

[Moderator] Ms. So-Hee Kim, Secretary General, Climate Change Center

[Video] Ms. Melati Wijsen Founder, Youthtopia

[Startups1] Mr. Chae-Jin Lee CEO, Kokkirigonfjang

[Startups2] Mr. Jong-Hwa Won CEO, Foresys

[Civil Society] Ms. Eun-Won Choi Executive Director, Korea Marine Conservation Network

[Media] Mr. Jun-Ho Song Editor, Impacton

[Youth] Ms. Bo-Min Son Leader, The Policy Monitoring Team, U-savers of Climate Change Center’s the Youth Ambassador

Above programme can be subject to change